Health is Wealth so DO NOT SMOKE!

by tybmmjourno

Health is Wealth so DO NOT SMOKE!

We all know smoking is injurious to health but we still smoke. Consumption of tobacco causes health problems like cancer.  But despite of all this smoking is on an increase in our country. Cigarettes comprise of 19% of tobacco while bidis 53% of tobacco.  The smoking ban act passed by the government states that no one is allowed to smoke in public places including public transportation and public offices etc. As per the rules, smoking is banned in shopping malls, cinema halls, public and private work place, hotels, banquet halls, canteen, coffee house, pubs, bars, airport lounge, railway stations.

Smoking causes respiratory problems too. Despite of all these rules or norms we still find people smoking at these places? Why is it so? There is a ban on smoking cigarettes chewing tobacco but yet all we find all these packets found in all the shops and public places like bus stands, railway station etc.

And so I decided to interview few people to find out their views on The Smoking Ban Act  and the reason for smoking.

 Me: What is your name, your age and what do you do?

He: I am Kevin Rosario, 30 years of age, and I am a driver.

Me: So Kevin do you smoke and if yes why?

He: Yes I do smoke. I cannot pass my day without smoking. I am used to smoking since I was young and now it’s difficult for me to quit.

Me: I hope you know that smoking is injurious to health and it causes respiratory diseases, despite of  it why do you still continue smoking?

He: Oh yes I do know smoking is injurious to health but like I told you I am habituated to it and though I try avoiding it sometimes it becomes impossible.

Me: So do you know about the smoking ban act which says that no one is allowed to smoke in public places? And have you been ever caught smoking in public places?

He: I smoke wherever I feel like and whenever I feel like and I have never been caught for it.  I have seen many people smoking in public places.

Me: Thank you Kevin for your precious time.

He: Your most welcome.

The next person I interviewed was Aaron Dias

 Me: What is your name, your age and what do you do?

He: My name is Aaron Dias, I am 20 years old and I am a student.

Me: So Aaron, do you smoke and if yes how regularly and why?

He: Yes. I do smoke.  But I am not a regular smoker.

Me: I hope you know that smoking is injurious to health and it causes respiratory diseases, despite of that why do you still continue smoking?

He: Yes I do know smoking is injurious to heath. But I don’t smoke regularly it’s just when I am around with my friends.

Me: So have you been caught smoking at public places and do you smoke outside your college?

He: No I have never been caught smoking though I smoke outside college sometimes.

Me: Thank you Aaron for your precious time.

He: You are most welcome.

 Despite of The Smoking ban Act, we find people smoking in public places. Hardly anyone is seen following the law. Across all interviews I found people saying that everybody smokes in public places and yet no one is caught so why should they fear. Its high time people realise that the law is made for our benefit and that we should not depend on what others say or do rather think about our own health as our lives our God’s gift to us!

NAKITA VADASSERY

TYBMM (JOURNALISM)

