THE UNITED NATIONS- making the world a better place to live in

by tybmmjourno

The United Nation is an international organisation that was set up in 1945 by 51 countries that made a commitment to maintain international peace and security, to develop friendly relations among nations and to promote social progress, better standard of living and human rights. Due to the powers vested in its Charter, the organisation can take up a wide range of issues and make countries work towards solving it and towards its betterment.  The four main purpose of the United Nations are:

  1. To maintain peace throughout the world
  2. To develop friendly relations among nations
  3. To help nations work together to improve the lives of poor people, to conquer hunger, disease and illiteracy, and to encourage respect for each other’s rights and freedom
  4. To be a centre for harmonizing for harmonizing the actions of nations to achieve these goals.

Apart from peace building and conflict prevention, the organisation also works towards the fundamental issues from gender equality, environmental sustainability, human rights, promoting democracy, counter terrorism, advancement of women, governance, economic and social development and international health, expanding food production, etc.  The organisation has helped by giving shelter to refugees, keeps peace with 120,000 peacekeepers in 16 operations on 4 continents, helped about 80 sovereign nations gain independence, etc.

In order to bring about a more channelized improvement with results within a given period of time, the United Nations in 2000 officially established the Millennium Development Goal which consists of eight International Development Goals. Al 193 United Nations member states and at least 23 international organisations have agreed to achieve these goals by 2015. It is funded by G8, which is a group of eight of the wealthiest governments in the world. The eight goals are:

  1. Eradicating extreme poverty and hunger,
  2. Achieving universal primary education,
  3. Promoting gender equality and empowering women,
  4. Reducing child mortality rates,
  5. Improving maternal health,
  6. Combating HIV/AIDSmalaria, and other diseases,
  7. Ensuring environmental sustainability, and
  8. Developing a global partnership for development

So far, there has been some stellar improvement in certain countries Bangladesh. Bangladesh has been recognised by the United Nations for marking an improvement in Child Mortality, eradicating Poverty and Hunger, Maternal Mortality and universal education. It still does have some more work to be done but its progress so far is commendable. In eastern Asia, there has been an improvement in almost all years and by 2015 the goals are expected to be met. In Caucasus and Central Asian region, Poverty level is quite low and the development of a global partnership and environmental sustainability has almost been met. Northern Africa has made a remarkable improvement in reducing poverty and hunger, providing universal education, promoting gender equality and women empowerment and developing an environmentally sustainable environment. Some other regions such as Oceania as severely lagging behind.   

The United Nations has been making sincere efforts to bring about a change. Every year a report is published to mark the decrease or increase in the levels of improvement. There have been volunteers who have been helping and working hard as well. The United Nations has also planned a Post- 2015 Development Agenda. It aims to help define the future global development framework that will succeed the United Nations Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), a set of eight global development targets which come to an end in 2015.

Whatever be the result of the Millennium Development Goals as of now, if we concentrate on the progress we can make an assumption that by 2015 the world may become a better place. While some still may struggle but sooner or later they will reach the desired goal.


 Alice Peter, TYBMM journalism